Coke and Pepsi Use Pork Extract?

Coke and Pepsi Use Pork Extract?

I received some Muslim SPAM today about how Coke and Pepsi have “Pork (PIG) extracts” the message goes on to say:

“The scientific and medical research says that drinking Pepsi & Cola leads to cancer because the key element is taken from Pigs sausage.”

LOL, I love it when they say “scientific and medical research says…” and then not give you any reference for it. Even funnier is the “fact” that “the key element is taken from Pigs sausage.” [sic] LOL “from Pigs sausage” how ludicrous is that? I mean, the only way to get this mysterious “extract”, it seems, is for Coke and Pepsi to manufacture sausages for the sole purpose of putting “Pigs sausage” “extract” into their drinks!

Are Muslims this stupid and gullible now? Come on people use some intelligence and common sense, two big corporations that have massive markets in the Middle-East and Asia will not put “Pigs sausage extract” in their drinks and they are certainly not going to manufacture pork sausages for this purpose!

Oh yeah, whenever you get this type of email DO NOT FORWARD IT without a little research to authenticate it in the first place. DO HOWEVER, reply to the person who sent it to you and tell them to stop forwarding stuff like this uncritically.

If someone is inclined to contact both Coke and Pepsi on this issue please do so and let me know what they say.

18 thoughts on “Coke and Pepsi Use Pork Extract?

  1. plz read ppl hu love coke
    the chain message stating coke is haram is not true- its a lie!!!!
    we asked cocacola our selfs
    even coke’s juices dont contain any animaal proudcts

    Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company. We certainly appreciate the opportunity to respond to your inquiry.

    Except the products that contain cochineal (which is listed on the label) and the products that contain milk (which is also indicated on the label), brands of The Coca-Cola Company in the United States do not contain any ingredient derived from animals.

    However, some of our juice products contain Vitamin D3, which is derived from lanolin. Lanolin is a natural oil in the fiber of sheep’s wool. It is separated from the wool after the sheep’s hair is cut (sheared). Lanolin oil is obtainable without harming the sheep, but may be an issue for strict vegetarians.

    Additionally, some of our suppliers use a common industry practice for grape juice clarification that does involve animal by-products. This practice is becoming increasingly less common as ultra-filtration systems are gradually replacing the gelatin used in this process. However, you may be interested to know that because our juices are certified halal, the gelatin used to clarify the juice is made from fish.

    In the U.S., the only Coca-Cola product that is currently produced with cochineal is Minute Maid Juices To Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink.

    The only currently manufactured Coca-Cola brand products that contain milk are Far Coast (WOCC only), Caribou, FUZE Refresh, Godiva, and Minute Maid Fruit and Creme Swirls.

    We hope this information is helpful. Please feel free to contact us again.

    Industry and Consumer Affairs
    The Coca-Cola Company

  2. I don’t agree with grouping all of us Muslims into one group with the “are all muslims this gullible” line. Incidently, my parents forwarded this email to me, thinking it was true, but I knew it was false right away. A couple minutes of quick research confirmed my thoughts.

  3. The reality is that Muslims who do drink these processed drinks and unnatural foods should if not for the right reasons take more heed of “spoof” emails as such.

    Not because there is lack of evidence but the huge amount of evidence which shows the negative effects on health and nutrition, fizzy drinks, processed foods and fast food have. The muslim should be leading the world in good health and nutrition.

    It is frankly a joke that Muslims do not research or are arrogant to the effects of these “foods”. Rasullalah salallahu alayhe wa salam said (paraphrased), “We are not a people who become ill much because we do not fill our stomachs”, there are many other narrations including by the great scholars of our history like Ibn al-Qayyim and others who wrote in great depths on this topic, some saying, that “the stomach is the centre of all diseases”.

    If people knew that especially for women many fizzies have chemicals which are very bad for the female reproductive organs and then they would not laugh as much or ridicule those who warn about taking these products.

    Even homogenised/pasteurised milk found in our stores has a negative effect on our health as the “process” has removed the natural elements within Milk which work positively for our health. I think a little less “mocking” and a lot more gaining of “knowledge” is required. It does not take references and a phd or great research from our ulema to realise that these “products” are detrimental to our health.

    So brothers and sisters, whatever the spoof email says – just don’t drink fizzies and products/swweets like it….Do some research, ask your doctor etc.

  4. Pepsin source Porcine stomach

    Mas’ud: I am not sure what this cryptic message is saying but if you check the Wikipedia page referenced by Dr. Waleed, there is no mention of pepsin being sourced from pigs’ stomach. The Wikipedia page for Pepsin states:

    Pepsin is a digestive protease (EC released by the chief cells in the stomach that functions to degrade food proteins into peptides.

    According to American Heritage Dictionary, pepsin derives from the Greek word pepsis, meaning digestion (peptein: to digest).

    Pepsin was discovered by Theodor Schwann[1] in 1836. It was the first animal enzyme to be discovered.

    So I fail to see the link to pigs’ stomach here. For someone who has the title Dr. I would have expected a more scientific approach.

  5. isnt this a stupid article.. if u think muslim’s research are silly im eager to heer ur research and studies.. we maybe silly results,. but its true.. the fact that pepsi or cola analyzes teeth.. which btw according to all scintists studies teeth never dissolve nor analyzes ever.. anyway pepsi analyzes teeth.. not to mention the video we saw on youtube were worms.. literally worms coming out of pig’s meat.. and btw for muslims who dont know the fact that pig’s fat can be eaten but not likely.. and to u who ever wrote this.. double check the studies,, we maybe “worng” but u are much “worse” ., take it easy,, so what if we were wrong.. dont make a fuss about it!!
    Mas’ud says: Research means that you provide the results with the evidence. Muslims who present this type of “evidence” in reality provide no evidence whatsoever and succeed in only creating distress and doubt in Muslims unnecessarily. It is ridiculous, foolish and pathetic.

    With regards to the Coke/Pork video, it is a well known hoax! See see also

    So from me who wrote this, I always check what I present, perhaps you should practice what you preach?

  6. u may want to knw the email originated from some one in india as this is where the muslim community is affected. i have added sum links for yourselfs. also the brother that contacted coca cola say no haraam used in their US products, thats US coca cola products, they never said anything about any other country. u guys say research and ask but when they answer ur like ok they said it so its true, but u dnt realis there only chtn bout US products.


  7. jazakAllah, brother.
    I’m a great lover of soft drinks. this has really helped alot.
    & how about having KFC/Mc Donals that make up the Israel economy? WHat’s your views regarding that?

    Mas’ud: With regards to McDonald’s and KFC, one only has to use common sense, both these companies have massive interests in Arab and Muslim countries, they are also companies that have shareholders. Now, the primary purpose of these companies is to make profit for their shareholders, why would such companies jeopardise the massive profits that they make from Muslim countries by “supporting” Israel. It is another matter entirely that they trade in Israel and only do so because it is profitable. It could be that individual shareholders donate money to Israel privately, again that is another matter. I wish Muslims were a bit more sophisticated in their approach to boycotts and I wish we would get our facts straight, if we do not know for sure we should say so for fear of inventing a lie. And Allah knows best.

  8. Salaam

    Brother Masud do you know of a website or can you give further information on your point about the boycotting of products, i think this is a very interesting topic.

  9. “how about having KFC/Mc Donals that make up the Israel economy? WHat?s your views regarding that?”

    Technically, anyone living in America is supporting Israel, that’s if you want to go technical =) A percentage of all tax dollars goes to Israel; for purposes of maintaining trade between the two companies. Israel is a major importer of American goods as they don’t manufacture much in their own country, and as a result don’t have a reliable financial stability. America kind of pays them so Israel can use those same dollars to import MORE things from US..
    Makes sense?
    Kinda like the cocain for rice trick their used in China, or the slaves as banana harvesters for Guatemala…

  10. I am wondering ; what made you that sure ; that this email is originally made by Muslims ????

    cant we consider this a poor way of thinking ???


    Mas’ud says: Who knows who wrote it? All I know is that Muslims circulate it, that is where the stupidity is.

  11. One of my friends just told me about this. It’s BS IMO. Our people need to start using their brains more, frankly I think their level of thinking is on par with that of Americans, believing everything they hear, whether it makes sense or not(No offense to any Americans, but you people do trust the news way too much).

    If Coke has pork in it, then why is it so readily available throughout the Middle East, where Pork, in all of its different forms, is banned? Surely it wouldn’t take 123 years for Islamic countries, many of whom produce it themselves, to find out that Coke has pork in it.

    This is BS, no more, no less. This is just as ridiculous as the theory that Pepsi is a secret jewish coded attempt at taking over the world. Or the made-up theory that Halloween is Haram because apparently it is “Satan’s Birthday”. Where the hell does it state Satan’s birthday in the Qur’an? Is giving children candy a sin too? People, please. Try using common sense, there are morons in our religion who come up with all kinds of crap. We need to be able to distinguish fact from fiction.

    I love my religion, and am proud to be a Muslim, but I am embarassed today by the stupidity shown by many of my fellow Muslims. Now the world has another reason to laugh at us, a lot of morons in our religion will settle for
    one of the biggest loads of rubbish ever created.

    BTW: Ramazan mubarak.

  12. Before you talk critically and call people stupid take microbiology and physio classes to be better educated and informed about how bad these kinda drinks and food to ur body.
    Mas’ud says: How about when you comment on one of my posts you actually bother to read what I have written, I am not talking about “how bad these kinda drinks and food to ur body” but about the misinformation presented that “The scientific and medical research says that drinking Pepsi & Cola leads to cancer because the key element is taken from Pigs sausage.” This is patently false.

  13. Coke is not haram, there is no evidence!!!
    Coke haram nahi hai, kuch bhi saboot nahi hai!!!
    Coke c’est pas haran, il n’y a aucune évidence!!!

  14. Hello Brothers and Sisters. Drinking of Coke and Pepsi is haram and is very harmful to our health. Because islamically and scientifically coke and pepsi are harmful. Because research has shown that both the products comtain aspartame a dangerous chemical which cause about 92 different health side effects. According to Lendon Smith, M.D. There is an enormous population suffering from side effects associated with aspartame, yet no idea why drugs supplement herbs don’t relieve their symtomps. See Qur’an 5:90 and 2:219 and also Bible Ephesians 5:18 and Judges 13:4.


    Mas’ud says: Unless you can bring a detailed fatwa based on thorough research, you cannot declare something haraam. Normal Coke and Pepsi do not contain aspartame either only the diet and low sugar variants. Please be careful when declaring something haraam.

Leave a Reply to Abba Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.